GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Recent content by bcgti

1. B

2019 v 2020

Google is your friend! 2019 - https://www.vw.ca/idhub/content/dam/onehub_pkw/importers/ca/2020/showroom/gti/BuyersGuide_2019_GolfGTI.pdf 2020 - https://www.vw.ca/idhub/content/dam/onehub_pkw/importers/ca/2020/showroom/gti/MY20buyersguidegolfGTIEN.pdf
  2. B

Overfilling gas

My MK6 lasted about a year of ‘topping off’ before I had to replace the check valve. I replaced it myself and learned my lesson! Got an evap error code that would come and go but other than that it drove just fine (before fixing it). So I believe it would take a lot for it to become an issue.
  3. B

Spark Plug Swap: OEM NGK [06K905601D] to NGK PLFER7A8EG [94833]

First off I’m not an expert on spark plugs but I don’t believe the pink color on the porcelain insulator is a sign of detention/knocking. True detention/knocking would cause some pretty obvious physical damage. Here’s a good comment from this link -...
  4. B

Mk8 GTI to be revealed in March

I like the look and don’t mind the interior. But for me, at this point in my life, I feel the lack of an electrified drivetrain (for NA) makes this irrelevant. If you had free money to invest right now would you honestly feel oil/gas is the smart choice?
  5. B

How do I even get this damage fixed? (Road debris)

Stuff like this stings for sure but unless it's a collectable show car for you then just put some touch up paint on it and don't worry about it.
  6. B

Oil/Filter Question - Canadians

To the OP's question - I've been using Motomaster Formula 1 5w40 for the past few years which is always a good price at Canadian Tire. It's on the VW approved oil list too. I do change my oil roughly every 6 months which is ~10000km's for me. As for filters I order a bunch of Wix filters...
  7. B

Help with odd noise underhood